Book Review: Change Your Church for Good

I began to read Pastor Brad Powells’ book on church change with a skeptic’s eye.  After all, there are hundreds, if not thousands, of books that claim to have the secret to jumpstarting, motivating, facilitating change in your local church.  I have read a few, and personally, they have not offered information that relates to my situation.

 Change Your Church for Good has rocked my world.

 Brad Powell’s easy-to-read, easily understood thoughts and lessons in transitioning his own church from ineffective to powerful are a lifesaver for me.  Identifying his church’s faults, weaknesses, and problems in many areas was so refreshing.  His honesty in relating his own fears, his personal challenges, seemed to be directed at our situation.  And step-by-step, Brad takes us through an honest and personal evaluation of their current situation, and steps out in order to offer change that is measurable and attainable. 

 Results of their transition has changed Temple Baptist, a dying church, to NorthRidge Church, a dynamic, growing church that has been named the Midwest’s fasted growing church.  And looking deeper, a changed church is really not the target of his book… learning to use the church to help change lives, is the target.

 I have used this book over and again in evaluating, praying, dreaming, and leading our congregation.  I believe this book will be worth your time and effort, and I highly recommend this work.

  1. #1 by Pastor Matt Newton on August 31, 2010 - 10:41 PM

    Thank you for your review. I attended a workshop led by Brad at the National Worship Leader’s Conference in Kansas City recently and after the workshop, I said to myself, “I have to get that book ‘Change Your Church for Good.’ I am getting ready to order it and ran across your review here. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

