Handling Stress

We all have days where everything we touch seems to turn to gold- good decisions, the right choices, and friends and family close by that affirm us.  Then, there are days where we cruise by, where we kind of average out; some good, some not-so-good, but we still feel ahead of the game.

Then, there are the times where nothing seems to go right- we can’t seem to find the right choices and decisions, where we cannot get enough information to make even an educated guess.  Often, those times are accompanied by the pressures of multiple deadlines, un-returned phone calls and emails, and no available online information.  And time seems to simultaneously rush full steam ahead and stop dead in its tracks.

What do you say to people in those times?  What do you want people to say to you in those times?

For me, as a follower of Christ, especially while in the midst of those most difficult times, I try to fall back on the behavior suggested in Proverbs 3, “Trust in the Lord with all my heart; do not lean on my on understanding or comprehension. In everything I do, I will acknowledge the Lord, and He will direct my paths.” Then, I relax, I wait, I trust, I choose, I don’t look back.

I will confess, however, that is easier said than done.

How do you handle very difficult and seemingly unfair situations?

  1. #1 by Margaret on August 7, 2010 - 6:53 PM

    Sometimes I go into denial and shut down. Sometimes I get angry and vent. But of course I do best when I shrug my shoulders and hand it to God and then keep on doing what I know I need to do. Pretty soon, the thing that seemed so difficult and unfair becomes less important, and often even seems to resolve itself.

Leave a Reply

