A Necessary Break

Since only about three people read my blog regularly (Thanks, Jane and Madilyn!  Andrew- where are you?), I didn’t call ahead to let everyone know I was taking a few days off to rest over Spring break.  Well, more than a few days- 13 to be exact.  In that 13 days, I also took time away from twitter and FaceBook, and other computer-based activities.  It was nice at first, having some extra time to pursue other adventures.  Soon, however, the familiar pangs of withdrawal set in- the constant wonder of what is happening in cyberspace; knowing that I am no longer connected to other people, no longer able to read what exciting things are happening in the lives of the cool people I am friends with, or the innovative ideas published by the creatives I follow.  I was uncomfortable knowing my Google reader was filling up with new releases of my favorite blogs, news spots, and book releases.  Finally, it was too much to bear, and I snuck to the computer late one night…

I didn’t log in.

I found that as I committed to other activities, my cyber life took a back seat, and we enjoyed an awesome Spring break!  Remodeling our guest bath, shooting our custom bows, dreaming in HGTV, an evening with sweet Jane at a local bed and breakfast…. I found that life unplugged, at least for a while, was necessary.  And while I look forward to catching up, I am now struggling with being so far behind in my cyber life.  On the other hand, I am much more relaxed and content as I wade through my Google reader account.

Surely, life is good!

From what do you need to unplug- and spend a necessary break?

  1. #1 by Beverly on March 20, 2011 - 5:18 PM

    I always read your blog. i enjoy it very much. I still think you should write a book. Hope you are doing great. Love, Beverly your cousin.

  2. #2 by Eric Barron on March 20, 2011 - 5:59 PM

    Ok, Beverly, you make four! Glad you’re reading- miss yall a lot!

  3. #3 by George Hale on March 20, 2011 - 6:28 PM

    Hey Eric. We also read and enjoy your “Life Is Good” blogs.

  4. #4 by BRANDON IRBy on March 20, 2011 - 7:12 PM

    This strikes a chord with me. Recently I’ve been contemplating the necessity of daily digital connectedness.

    I will say that when I do take time away from RSS feeds, etc I always log in to Google Reader and mark everything as read. Sometimes its nice to keep forward motion and not sort through the digital accumulation.

  5. #5 by Eric on March 22, 2011 - 3:42 PM

    Hi. This is Madilyn. Dad, I love your blog. Even though this is about the 3rd one I have read , WAIT!!!!!!!!! dosn’t this make me your fifht reader!!!!!!! :). I think I will read some more………

Leave a Reply

