For the First Time in 27 years…

Last evening following a fantastic Joe Mamma’s Pizza dinner, my family walked down the block to Lee’s Bicycles.  Andrew is becoming a biking aficionado, and I wanted to learn more about the sport that excites him enough to ride in Tulsa Tough- a 30-mile endurance race around metro Tulsa.

Soon I was talking with a salesperson about this bike- a beautiful matte-white bike with large tires and a large frame, and I took it through the streets of downtown Tulsa for a test drive.  For the first time since (probably) 1985, I rode a bicycle!

I told our salesperson that I hadn’t ridden in many years, and he explained, “it’s kinda like… um, swimming… once you get in the water, it all comes back to you.”

I have some friends at church who ride regularly… they inspire me.  Maybe a new hobby in my future?

How long has it been since you last rode a bicycle?

  1. #1 by Katy on May 15, 2011 - 4:12 AM

    That’s wonderful! I have my own Trek in layaway right now. 🙂 I’m sure we have the same problem, only on opposite sides of the spectrum. I have a terrible time finding a frame small enough for me. (without having to get a bright pink neon girls bike lol) however, I do love a daisy basket for the handlebars, so I’m not totally dissuaded.
    The only thing I ask is you wear a helmet! Check out Amazon. They have cool ones. And avoid the stormgrates on Peoria, unless you want to fly like Superman.

    I say: go for it!!

Leave a Reply

